Granny to be…

Posted on

Granny to be… finished! That is, my granny square blanket is on the home stretch. I am not going to actually be a ‘granny’ (that was a sneaky heading eh?). Two weeks ago I was rediscovering wool and fabric WIPs and deciding whether WIPS would stay as UFOs or be completed or trashed. I started this particular project about 10 years ago when I worked in a yarn store which sold beautiful Italian Adriafil yarn and it wasn’t cheap even with a discount. Over the years it has been added to off and on but just never finished. It was one of my first forays into crochet – and yes it is slightly wonky and the tension could be more standard. It started as a cushion cover, then I wanted to make it bigger into a throw for a sofa. It was to go in our holiday home. We no longer have that holiday home. Luckily I still love the yarn and the randomness of the whole thing! I wish I had more black but the yarn was discontinued years ago and I can’t source it from anywhere. I need to make it bigger, perhaps add a large border. It’s still a WIP but at least all the squares are joined and all the ends are sewn in – for now I call that a ‘win’ on the WIP front.

I rediscovered a three quarters finished toddler jumper too and a WIP became A FINISHED ITEM – hurrah! Front, back and sleeves were complete. Sewing up was half done. It was supposed to be a hoodie but I decided on a round neck for quick finishing. I have to admit the toddler it was for is no longer a toddler – but funny enough it’s come up huge – so may still fit her. You may giggle as it so obviously needs pressing. I just wanted to share a finished ‘win’ briefly, don’t judge me on my photos please – I like words, I am not a photographer and my ironing plans start tomorrow!

12 thoughts on “Granny to be…

    Jane Rhodes said:
    February 24, 2022 at 4:57 pm

    Congratulations were nearly tripping from my finger tips! Well done in having all the ends stitched in! I discovered a lot of granny squares and hexagons whist sorting out. My plan was to at some point, to make a story of my crochet journey, stitch them all together. Needless to say it’s still on my to do list!
    At least the person you made the jumper for is still a child. My mum found a cardigan she’d been knitting for my brother when he was a toddler. He’s now a grown up with grown up children of his own!

      tinaor said:
      February 24, 2022 at 5:35 pm

      Thank you. I do wonder how long it will take me to actually complete the granny blanket in it’s entirety. I can only work with black in natural light and my crafting time this week seems to be evenings so that won’t get done yet! I hope you get round to your to do list one day. So hard, so many things to make, so little time! I love the story of your Mum’s cardigan for your brother. A friend had a similar thing a couple of years ago. She found a hat she’d half made for her son as a baby – he’s now 26. I am not sure my projects are quite as old – maybe the oldest could be 15 – actually amazed writing that! Where does the time go??

        Jane Rhodes said:
        February 26, 2022 at 5:24 pm

        ‘shudders’ the dreaded black in electric light!

        tinaor said:
        February 28, 2022 at 3:44 pm

        I know!

    quiteayarnblog said:
    February 25, 2022 at 7:52 am

    Congratulations! The jumper is really cute, and will definitely suit someone πŸ™‚ And your granny squares afghan looks great! Have you looked for the yarn in people’s Ravelry stashes? It’s amazing what turns up πŸ™‚

      tinaor said:
      February 26, 2022 at 12:31 pm

      Thank you. Yes, there doesn’t seem to be any in anyone’s Rav stash. I did try that avenue before for another project – great to be reminded though as I am not so active on Rav as I used to be

        quiteayarnblog said:
        February 26, 2022 at 11:49 pm

        I am sorry to hear that!! I hate running out of yarn midproject, especially when there isn’t any more to be had.

        tinaor said:
        February 28, 2022 at 3:45 pm

        Hurrah! I found I had 2 balls of the black at the bottom of the drawer where the project had been stashed! Amazing!

    handmadeknits said:
    February 28, 2022 at 12:42 pm

    Well done for completing some wips 😊

      tinaor said:
      February 28, 2022 at 3:51 pm

      Thank you

    tierneycreates: a fusion of textiles and smiles said:
    March 1, 2022 at 10:10 pm

    What a fun granny square blanket!

      tinaor said:
      March 2, 2022 at 5:03 pm

      Thank you. Wonky and fun! Kind of what I might want to be remembered as !

Leave a comment