A little sewing, repurposing garments, a little quilting, a little musing

Posted on

Been a little productive, craftwise, in the past few days, sorting fabric and playing with repurposing some charity shop bargains.  I have ideas to make new summer tops and a pair of culottes.  Having cut out two commercial paper patterns, realised I am so inbetween sizes and  thought about past disasters  I am jigging those patterns so finished garments will hopefully fit me in the right places.  I am not the body size or shape I wish I was (oops! too much good living and too much time spent sitting!)

So I bought a huge men’s shirt for less than £3.00 – am cutting it up. I llke the fabric but it has a stain on it so bought it for the fabric not the garment itself.  I have also taken apart a gorgeous broderie anglaise dress I had two years ago, it had a huge snag on the front (grrr, the washing machine ‘ate’ it!).  I have chopped into it to make a sample fitted top, making sure the darts are in the correct places, then will use it as a sample as a pattern.

I bought some beautiful linen trousers too.  They were made for someone with the longest legs ever – so I have rehemmed them to fit (I actually have long legs but these were ridiculous!)   Also a blouse, which was too short in the body, I added a trim to the bottom and voila – perfect for me.  In fact I wore this combo to work yesterday – so can’t show it off as it’s now in the laundry pile – will show off pics next time.

So, for a pic today …. I have chosen one of a bag I made for a friend last year.  A little quilting, lots of fun I had one Sunday afternoon.

quiltbag

Thanks for reading my blog post(s).

7 thoughts on “A little sewing, repurposing garments, a little quilting, a little musing

    Postcard from Gibraltar said:
    June 28, 2017 at 4:16 pm

    You have put me to shame! I have a pile of clothes which need repurposing but I don’t ever seem to have the time or the inclination to get stuck in!

    I have nominated you for a blue Sky Tag. It’s just a bit of fun but there’s no pressure to join in if you don’t want to!

    https://postcardfromgibraltar.com/2017/06/28/blue-sky-tag/

    handmade habit said:
    June 28, 2017 at 9:46 pm

    I love the re-purposing you are doing, and the idea of making completely new clothes out of pre-loved fabric 🙂 (I used to love to do this as well when I had a working sewing machine!). Something as simple as trim to a blouse can really transform a piece. And what a beautiful quilted bag; I love the two colours on the body and handle. Happy sewing!

    tinaor responded:
    June 29, 2017 at 8:52 am

    Thank you handmade habit. I am loving playing around with fabric, and was so glad when my friend genuinely seemed to like her gift – she uses it as a knitting bag when we go to a craft club together so I get to see it again most weeks!

    Dartmoor Yarns said:
    June 29, 2017 at 6:49 pm

    Sounds like you’ve done a lot. Lovely bag 🙂

      tinaor responded:
      June 30, 2017 at 1:32 pm

      Thank you Dartmoor yarns. One of those projects I made for someone else but wish I could have kept for myself!

    tierneycreates said:
    July 1, 2017 at 3:41 pm

    Excellent repurposing!

      tinaor responded:
      July 7, 2017 at 11:49 am

      Thank you. I am currently digging out old summer clothes, realising none of them fit as they have shrunk in storage (!) and I might (might!) be able to make something from some of them.

Leave a Reply

