Time to reflect, after a series of crises

Posted on

I often feel my life swings from one crisis to another.  When did it all start? (Crises that is, not life!)

Childhood was happy and simple.  I would love to be able to thank my parents properly but sadly they both passed a few years ago. I was kind of able to say thanks when I spent some time with my mother in her final days but it was not enough and time was short.  I hope she had the same happiness with parenting that I had with childhood.

Perhaps for most people childhood is rosy!  I hope I have been able to give mainly happy memories to my own son.  At the moment I believe my husband and I are deemed as slightly demented, crazy people who were ‘never young’, dare I say the usual thoughts of a young adult these days about anyone over 35!

Perhaps the appreciation of your own parents only comes into it’s own as you age yourself. I think the first time I truly reflected on parenting was on my wedding day.  I had already left home and was living with my fiance but it still felt like leaving the fold of my first family to join my second.

Recently there has been another very sad passing of a dear family member. The final illness was quite lengthy which was dreadful for the sufferer.  However, the weeks gave each of us time to say our goodbyes and remember good times.  I am still deciding in my own head whether this long drawn out end of life was cruel or kind.  It should not be a shock, but it still feels like it.

This passing came a little time after a career crisis for me, followed by a new job offer, accepted under pressure.  During the same period a family member’s plans to return home gave way and a move for that person to go abroad for a year came to the fore.  A new baby in the family was born safely and on time, after several weeks of anticipation of an early and problematic birth.  Husband has a very pressurised job, which recently meant more time away from home, more long working hours, distractions from the business when at home too.  We had a major job done on the house, with builders here for a few weeks and a major job done at our holiday home so lots of decision making done remotely, which is stressful in itself. Our usual holidays at Easter and May Day were deferred due to the happenings about us.  Finally we had three nights and four days away last weekend and that’s when this latest sad crisis occurred.

Of course, now is the time to be there for each other, look after each other, a funeral to get through and the weeks after.

We will survive, but feeling a little battered and bruised.

Still crafting occasionally,  a little ‘therapy’ and me time.  Projects on the table: a patchwork and applique runner for a craft fair (see post a couple of weeks ago for Countryside ideas), ongoing English paper piecing hexagons patchwork throw (see post a few weeks ago!), newly cast on cotton summer top (knitting), almost finished knitted summer vest (just fixing errors on the neck pick up which originally was a disaster), more felt doughnuts to sell …. loads more projects but they are in hiding right now.  No photos to share at the mo but there will be.

Signing out for now.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Time to reflect, after a series of crises

    shazza said:
    June 15, 2017 at 1:31 pm

    It sounds like you have had a really stressful time. I hope things improve in this second half of the year.x

    Dartmoor Yarns said:
    June 15, 2017 at 5:21 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your recent loss and the other difficulties you’ve recently been facing. Troubles never seam to arrive alone, but the path does usually improve eventually. Hope that happens very soon.

    tinaor responded:
    June 16, 2017 at 12:56 pm

    Thank you for your kind comments. Actually someone else yesterday said I should look to the next half of 2017 as a new beginning, or at least file away the troubles of the first half of the year. Food for thought, and yes life goes on – it can’t get more stressful anyway!

    Postcard from Gibraltar said:
    June 19, 2017 at 8:19 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about all the things which have been going on for you. It does seem that lots of things have all come your way at the same time, and it’s so hard to cope with so many issues at once. Sending love and beat wishes your way and to your family x

Leave a Reply

