A wander somewhere special, with a ‘tea and biscuit’ break …

Posted on

Somewhere very special to me is Rye in East Sussex (UK).  I used to live a short drive away from here and sometimes go back for a wander.  I was there again recently.  It’s a historical town, it was even mentioned in The Doomsday Book.   I used to visit with my grandparents. Thursday was market day, if memory serves me right, and there was livestock for sale, sheep I think, possibly chickens, as well as fruit and vegetables.  We used to have treat at Simon the Piemans in Lion Street if we were lucky, a little cafe that sold the most delicious fudge – it’s still there – more than 30 years later.  My sister used to drool whilst looking in the window! Unfortunately my camera failed me on my latest visit – so no photo of yummy fudge(!), however …

ryemermaidst
Mermaid Street, with all it’s cobbles, and look at that blue sky

Also one of the quirky houses in Mermaid Street

rye2doors
The House with Two Doors …. don’t know the history, but is sure is quirky – giess once upon a time it was two houses and now it’s one! 

We did stop for a treat whilst in Rye.  I never miss a tea and biscuit break (well, in my case coffee as I don’t drink tea!).  The Old Apothecary was our cake stop http://www.apothecaryrye.co.uk/ check out their website to see how it’s housed in an old chemist shop! The ‘treat’ inspired me a little, though I had homemade cake and not actual biscuits!

Crafting time: These are to add to my items for sale in a local cafe.  For those who regularly follow my blog you may remember doughnuts a while ago.  Same cafe, those doughnuts went down a treat!  Let’s hope a few ‘traditional style’ biscuits go the same way.

jammydodgers
One shop bought, one ‘homemade’ 
custardcream
One from a packet, one from the crafting table !

And that’s a little crafting only, still managing to get a little done, rather than a lot, but a little can go a long way!

Bye for now. Happy Friday !

biscuits

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A wander somewhere special, with a ‘tea and biscuit’ break …

    quietwatercraft said:
    June 2, 2017 at 9:15 am

    Oh I love the custard cream! They’re my favourite

      tinaor responded:
      June 2, 2017 at 9:17 am

      One of mine too! This was a prototype – think I need to work on the neatness of the words stitched !

      tinaor responded:
      June 2, 2017 at 9:17 am

      It was a challenge not to eat the template!

    MrsCraft said:
    June 24, 2017 at 6:11 am

    Gorgeous crafty biscuits! 😊

    tinaor responded:
    June 24, 2017 at 9:31 am

    Thank you. Unfortunately I wasn’t 100% happy with the prototype so didn’t make any more – that’s a project on the ‘to do’ list in the future.

Leave a Reply

