A little quilting … bit of a faff this time! Very little crafting indeed this week.

Posted on Updated on

It’s been a quiet week craftwise,  with much time taken up elsewhere with family illness and a little bit of work.

 

A few weeks ago I began a machine stitched baby playmat.  I kept the urge back to post pics here as I was planning to post when it was finished.  I briefly worked on the playmat two days ago, a little time for me and for my sanity! I still have a little way to go – craftwise that it, sanity well who can tell!

The playmat was supposed to be a quick and easy project.  A few weeks ago, the piecing went well, fabulous fabric donated by a friend.  I pieced the front, THEN I accidently cut the backing too small!  Grrr, I dashed out and purchased an alternative fabric.  I sewed the back and front together like a pillowcase, intending to pop in  the wadding and simply do some formed of ‘tied’ quilting.  That’s where I had left it until this week.

quiltbackmag (2)
So what’s a magazine got to do with quilting? There are no sewing patterns in this one ….

Have you ever tried to insert wadding through a small gap in one side of a pillowcase shape and try and make it reach all the edges?  It doesn’t work – wadding is way too flexible.  It clung to the fabric in all the wrong places. I had imagined it would be like putting a duvet in a duvet cover.  It isn’t!  I ended up flipping the ‘pillowcase’ inside out again and attempted to tack the wadding to the wrong side of the front of the playmat. There was one major hurdle – I had to avoid tacking the wadding to both the front and the back as I then wanted to flip it right side out, seam the gap and then tie the quilt as planned.  Some might say ‘why didn’t she just undo the seam around the whole thing and tack the wadding to one part?’  I have no idea why I didn’t do that! So, this wasn’t like a standard quilt where you have three layers and then bind the edges afterwards. I came up with this weird method of inserting a magazine into the gap and moving it beneath each part as I tacked.  I could pin and tack through the wadding and the front without the pins and stitches going right through to the other layer.  Here’s a pic mid process with a hint of what the back will look like.

quiltback
A touch of dotty blue makes the back a calm colour . What colours do you think the top will be?

I shall finish this before the recipient arrives in June.  I had just run out of me time this week and was slightly traumatised by the effort this took!

Watch this blog for the finished article.

Total other craftings this week – three hexagon shapes cut and tacked to card for my hand quilted hexi project.  Long way to go on this one.  Twelve rows of knitting, shaping armholes for an ongoing project. Not so much to still do, the bulk is done. I am just at the fiddly parts, not a project to take when hospital visiting. I have a new one for just that next time.

Bye for now.

 

5 thoughts on “A little quilting … bit of a faff this time! Very little crafting indeed this week.

    Fred the Needle said:
    May 20, 2017 at 1:48 pm

    Sometimes I find projects that I think will be easy and quick often cause the most stress! I feel your frustration! I am sure the project will be worth it when it is finished ! and well done for your persistence. Many of my projects like this end up as UFOs!

      tinaor responded:
      May 23, 2017 at 7:48 am

      Thanks Fred the Needle, I agree, the simplest things sometimes turn into the most frustrating! I am determined this won’t go into my pile of UFO’s – I have way too many of those – ha ha !

    handmade habit said:
    May 21, 2017 at 9:58 pm

    Wow! I have so much awe for quilting and quilters. It looks like quite an intense process, getting all the layers in place. I’m glad to read that it worked out! Looking forward to seeing the finished play mat. 🙂

      tinaor responded:
      May 23, 2017 at 7:45 am

      Thank you. I hope to finish it (at last!) this week, other commitments allowing.

    Dartmoor Yarns said:
    May 22, 2017 at 7:23 pm

    You’re not alone, it’s so often the projects you think are going to be easy that are the hardest. I have enough trouble getting a duvet in a cover, I don’t envy you attempting to get that wadding in and admire your persistence.

Leave a Reply

