Hexagon heaven – a little quilt in progress, and a knit fail!

Posted on

I have been crafting steadily over the last few days but there’s not a lot to photograph and show off!  Here are my latest 19 hexagons handsewn together.hexis.jpg

Excuse the crinkles – it’s a moveable project and it came with me to a craft club last night – obviously not packed so nicely for it’s journey home! Might have been due to exhaustion – second day in new job, followed by an evening at a craft club with just an hour between the two.  I might have overstretched myself too far yesterday, though the stitches are even so at least that wasn’t a consequence!

Recently I posted a pic of this sofa quilt project.  Eventually all my hexagons will be sewn together and what started as a cushion project WILL become a throw for my spare sofa.  I am calling it my organic project.  I started it several years ago, have dipped in and out but am currently working away on it, using fabric from my stash and adding more if I come across something complementary when out and about.  I may purchase a FQ or a half metre or more at a time, not exactly planning what I need at all. I am a ‘wing it’ sort of girl and this is a lot of fun. I am not stressing at all about how long it might take me and if another project becomes a priority it won’t matter at all.  There’s a lot of love being stitched into this.  Hand sewing is very therapeutic, and each stitching session is really enjoyable.  This is not detracting from the two knitting projects next to my sofa, nor the machine stitched quilt almost finished on my work table.

Knitting-wise, I have just picked up stitches twice (yes, twice!) around the neck of my latest cotton top.  Unfortunately the first pick up was very uneven so I undid it.  The second pick up has been better but there are still a couple of places I am not happy with.  It has been relegated to it’s knitting bag for the rest of the day.  Sometimes a project ‘works’ first time, but sometimes it doesn’t.  Often when I go back to it everything clicks and that’s the project for the day but today is a knit-no-more day.  No pics of the wonky pick up  – too embarrassed to show that off – I may have to enhance the neckline to make it wearable.

Loving knitting the cotton DK anyway – it’s Paintbox cotton dk yarn from Loveknitting.com. The shade is called Lipstick Pink but to me it’s not pink at all – it’s a definite coral.  I’ve bought a lot online but sourcing online there is always that risk that the colours you see on your screen don’t match the colour in reality.  In this instance I actually prefer coral to the pink anyway. https://www.loveknitting.com/paintbox-yarns-cotton-dk

Would love to hear which online yarn and fabric suppliers fellow crafters use. To start, one UK fabric online shop I love is ElephantInMyHandbag.com – lots to like on here.

I do actually visit shops too.  My hubby says I can sniff out a yarn or fabric shop from miles away – luckily he can be a patient man whilst I shop, or at least he ‘sniffs out’ a pub nearby and pops there whilst he’s waiting!

Byee for now.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Hexagon heaven – a little quilt in progress, and a knit fail!

    gracelessunderfireblog said:
    May 9, 2017 at 2:11 pm

    I use Yarnspirations and The Crochet Crowd to find reliable online yarn resources here. I haven’t mastered knitting yet, though I crochet like a mad woman. I haven’t hand quilted in years, though. I’m nowhere near good enough to pull off all those tiny uniform stitches. Hats off to you!

      tinaor responded:
      May 9, 2017 at 2:26 pm

      I am not a confident crocheter – I have mastered a basic granny square and have a granny square blanket project in a bag somewhere – I feel better with 2 sticks rather than 2 -but I will give the blanket another try one day

    Dartmoor Yarns said:
    May 9, 2017 at 2:55 pm

    Love the hexagons. It might not look a lot of work, but they do grow slowly 😦

      tinaor responded:
      May 9, 2017 at 3:15 pm

      Thank you. I knew fellow crafters would understand!

    handmade habit said:
    May 9, 2017 at 10:01 pm

    Great hexagons, Christina. 🙂 I have a quilt with a hexagon design and have seen the piecing in action; I always marvel at how little and meticulous the hand-sewn stitches are that hold them together. Nice to read about picking up stitches, too – this technique always makes me a bit nervous! Wishing you more happy knitting on the sweater. I’ve ordered yarn on knitpicks.com recently, and have to say I was really satisfied with my purchase.

      tinaor responded:
      May 12, 2017 at 7:25 am

      Hi Handmade Habit – I had conquered my fear of picking up stitches – I think this time the top is a pure cotton and you can’t hide any faults/wonky stitches easily! Thanks for the luck, I may need it. And good luck with your new project.

    crawcraftsbeasties said:
    May 10, 2017 at 6:10 am

    Love those hexagons! They always make me feel a bit nostalgic… When I was very little, my Mum helped the older kids in the local primary school make a big hexagon quilt as a class project. Our house was full of hexagons for about a year! The idea of an organic quilt that grows when you feel like it is lovely… Good luck with it! And I hope your troublesome sweater neck sorts itself​ out soon… We all have projects like that sometimes 😆

    tierneycreates said:
    May 10, 2017 at 7:08 pm

    That will be cool to have a hexagon throw! Yes now that I am sewing my hexies together I see how wrinkled stuff gets when transported around. As far as online knitting source – that would be NONE – as I have so much yarn I have to use up before I will allow myself to get more 🙂

    tinaor responded:
    May 12, 2017 at 7:26 am

    Tierneycreates … if only I could be so disciplined. Well done if you manage to deplete your stash before you get more x

    paintdigi said:
    May 17, 2017 at 3:11 pm

    Nice posts.
    Beautiful blog.
    Congratulations.
    Welcome to see my creations:
    Paintdigi.comm

    tinaor responded:
    May 18, 2017 at 5:27 pm

    Another online fabric store that tempts me – https://www.plushaddict.co.uk. An online store, mainly knitting yarns, (and a store in the UK too which is a dream to visit! https://www.littlewoolie.co.uk – just been into Little Woolie today for a visit and they’d had a huge yarn delivery – expect a lot more on their website over the next week. I wanted to dive in and start a new project, but I restrained myself!

Leave a Reply

