New job/old job! Sew impossible today!

Posted on

I have a new job.  I start tomorrow.  Well, it is a new job, but it’s kind of an old job too.  I am returning to a Company I left more than five years ago, with a little more responsibility this time and perhaps a slightly different mindset. I am somewhat reassured I know what I’ve let myself in for, however I am also full of trepidation and cannot settle to anything today.

If a friend asked me whether they should return to a job they left I would probably say ‘don’t go back/move forwards’ for a whole host of reasons, especially if they left through choice, as I did.  I have mulled over this very thing. Circumstances have changed slightly, location of job for one.  The Company is moving forwards itself too.   I am hoping there is a mixture of knowing what I am doing, plus a few new challenges and new faces.

I am so lucky to be given this opportunity. However, I had kind of gotten used to not working! I’ve been crafting more and loving it. The job is only part time so I shall still sew and I shall still knit, perhaps not quite as manically, but hopefully as productively.  Today, however, it just isn’t happening –  I have picked up my sewing and held it for ages without stitching a stitch.  I have rummaged in the knitting bag next to my seat yet not been tempted to pick up sticks and actually knit. This feeling of being unsettled is just a temporary blip – I hope!

So, a few of pics of a recent trip to Devon, instead of the usual crafty updates in bulk! This part of the UK truly is a wonderful place.  Unfortunately for us, the drive there took 8 hours rather than 5, less said about that traumatic part of the trip the better !  Goodbye for now, back another day!

 

DSC02362
Two weekends ago,  hubby and I posing in the sunshine at Salcombe.  Lovely place to visit !
DSC02317
The view from where we stayed in Bigbury on Sea, across to Bantham Beach. Glorius!
DSC02301
We walked across the sand to Burgh Island, took refreshments in the Pilchard Inn, thinking of the smugglers who frequented many moons ago!  You have to time your return if you want to walk back – if you miss the tide then there’s a sea tractor as otherwise you’d have to swim or wade !
21 thoughts on “New job/old job! Sew impossible today!

    Dartmoor Yarns said:
    May 2, 2017 at 1:59 pm

    You’re bound to be trepidatious not having worked for 5 years, but get the first few hours under your belt and I’m sure you’ll feel heaps better. And you aren’t going back, you’re got a new role, so a forward step. As for Devon, won’t argue with your opinion on that 🙂 I love the area you stayed in and lucky for me it’s only an hour and a half away, so a day trip. Not a big fan of Salcombe, but love everywhere around it. Bantham is definitely one of my favourite beaches – although the fog rolled in once when I was down at the sea with my daughter and it was pretty difficult and scary finding our way back to the top! Good for tomorrow!

      tinaor responded:
      May 2, 2017 at 4:23 pm

      Thanks for your kind words Dartmoor Yarns. I’ve actually had 2 other jobs in those 5 years – first one for 18 months, 2nd one for nearly 3 years, so not so much the trepidation after a five year break just trepidation this is the right job and I am ready to go back to work after 3 months not working at all. Luckily we’ve just had this lovely weekend away with family (and the sun shone all the time we were there!). Thanks for the luck for tomorrow x

        Dartmoor Yarns said:
        May 3, 2017 at 3:56 pm

        Sorry, I must have misread. Hope it went well today!

        tinaor responded:
        May 4, 2017 at 5:16 pm

        It was probably the way I wrote it. Yes, it did thanks so much !

        Dartmoor Yarns said:
        May 5, 2017 at 10:04 am

        Good to hear that 🙂

    handmade habit said:
    May 2, 2017 at 5:21 pm

    Beautiful pictures! Wishing you all the best on your first day at the new job tomorrow, and a very smooth transition, Christina! The trepidation is entirely natural; perhaps let it ride its course and it should clear as you get settled in and familiar with this new/old place over time. You can definitely do it! And the crafting will come back, and will hopefully be a good way to wind down after a work day. Wishing you a good first day. 🙂

      tinaor responded:
      May 4, 2017 at 5:30 pm

      thank you handmade habit. So lovely to have such positive encouragement on here. I think you were right about the crafting, work went well and I even managed a few rows of knitting this morning! Yay!

        handmade habit said:
        May 4, 2017 at 7:06 pm

        Wonderful to read. All very best!

    MrsCraft said:
    May 3, 2017 at 5:52 am

    Devon looks beautiful. Good luck in your new job, it sounds like a good opportunity.😊

      tinaor responded:
      May 4, 2017 at 5:19 pm

      MrsCraft, thank you for your kind words. Day One done and dusted and it went well !

    carentaylor said:
    May 3, 2017 at 6:32 am

    Wishing you good luck for your new job Tina 🙂 Beautiful views from where you stayed I’m sure your crafting will return to a normal pace once you settle in 😉

      tinaor responded:
      May 4, 2017 at 5:19 pm

      thanks caren. It was a beautiful place ! Day One went well and crafting mojo seems to be on its way back too. All good here, though worn out !

    shazza said:
    May 3, 2017 at 11:53 am

    Good Luck with your new job. I’m sure you will be fine once you get into the swing of things! I think a new location , new job role and new faces will make it a step forward, not back. 🙂 I like the look…and name of The Pilchard Inn. 🙂

      tinaor responded:
      May 4, 2017 at 5:18 pm

      Thanks shazza

    Postcard from Gibraltar said:
    May 3, 2017 at 5:42 pm

    I hope your first day went well. I have recently started a job after 13 years of not working, so I know exactly how you feel. I also know the frustrations of losing your crafty mojo. I hope it returns to you soon!

      tinaor responded:
      May 4, 2017 at 5:17 pm

      Thank you. Yes, the first day went really well. I actually remembered more than I thought I would! Wow, after 13 years of not working, I bet that was a bit of a shock to the system. Mojo coming back, on the craft front, think my mind just had other priorities for a few days!

        Postcard from Gibraltar said:
        May 4, 2017 at 7:10 pm

        Glad to hear that your first day went well. Yes it was a bit of a shock to the system, but in a good way. It felt so good to be treated as a professional instead of just someone’s mum!

        tinaor responded:
        May 9, 2017 at 3:25 pm

        I think the 24hr day job (being a mum) can be harder than any other. Yes, I agree, when you go ‘out’ to work it is nice to be treated differently!

        Postcard from Gibraltar said:
        May 9, 2017 at 5:12 pm

        Absolutely!! On both counts 😊

    The Occasional Writer said:
    May 9, 2017 at 3:21 pm

    Congrats on the job! How awesome is that to be working at a familiar company doing what I am sure is like second nature. I know the feeling of being use to not working. After leaving my company almost 4 years now and settling in to my stay at home role, I still wonder if the call came would I go back. Part of me miss it because I loved what I did, but part of me also remembers why I left. Time will tell.

    Work the job, don’t let the job work you!

    tinaor responded:
    May 9, 2017 at 4:04 pm

    Ditto. I missed some of it but I remembered why I left too. I definitely had mixed feelings after being asked to go back,. I had worked two other jobs since and didn’t know how different I would be in the job as well as how different the job might be. There are familiar and unfamiliar things to do. There’s definitely a lot to get my head around, one thing is being told what to do again – I’ve had three months without work and a year of working at home before that break. Time will definitely tell. Thanks so much for your comment – and I love the ‘Work the job, don’t let the job work you!’

Leave a Reply

