Painted yarn bowl makes knitting pretty ! (Nearing the end of NaKniCromo on Ravelry too)

Posted on

I decorated a pottery yarn bowl at a Pottery Painting shop early this month – oh what fun !  I was slightly worried my attempt at painting anything might look like a child’s artistry (my ‘skills’ tend to be woolly or in fabric) but luckily with a little help of a ‘magic’ paint I think the finished product was a success. I was reluctant to post pics until it was fired in case it was a disaster.yarn bowls

https://www.emmaspotteryparlour.com/

Mine’s on the left.  I painted a pattern you can’t see too well(!),  covered it with a white glaze that went black and ‘cracked’ on firing.  My friend Susan (her bowl on the right) was painted in green/blue, then a grey glaze was painted on and the ‘bit’s in the glaze exploded on firing changing the colour and giving a lovely marbled effect.

 

Finished and in use !

DSC02279

 

 

 

 

 

So, Love this Cardigan is growing.  DSC02277

Now I have the two fronts and almost the front.  Meribel yarn by Schoeller and Stahl is lovely to work with but will be a nightmare to sew up with so I am scrabbling around in my stash to find a good sewing up yarn, one that won’t break when I pull together mattress stitch.

 

 

 

NaKniCromo, the yarn challenge for March on Ravelry.com is almost over.

Day 26 Projectless yarn? Yes – lots of it – here is just some ….DSC02209 and currently sorting my stash so much more is projectless.

Day 27 – For those who know me, I am never working on one thing at the same time.  I have ‘easy’ knitting which is portable (eg in the car or with me for knit club when I can chat, drink coffee and not go home with mistakes that need ripping out later), then slightly more difficult knitting for when I want a challenge.  I have WIPs where I have got bored or stuck or gone wrong – they go into storage and often take a little while to finish or I never finish them!

Day 28 Share my Progress – see above, Love this Cardigan in Meribel teal and navy blue – love love love this cardigan is what I shall call it!

Day 29 Any Other Crafts? Yes, as blogged here, I sew a bit too. Doughnuts and Embroidery Hoops on recent posts.  I have also tried others, hand felting, cross stitch, mosaics are amongst them.  Oh, and I did silk painting and card making as well. I guess I have a brain that loves to create and try new things.

Day 30 – tomorrow – Crafts I would like to learn – thinking ….

Have a great day, whatever you are doing.  And if anyone wants to suggest a project for that projectless yarn please feel free to do so – I have 150g/150m chunky yarn, variegated.  It’s Adriafil Mistero, acrylic and wool.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Painted yarn bowl makes knitting pretty ! (Nearing the end of NaKniCromo on Ravelry too)

    Fred the Needle said:
    March 29, 2017 at 5:54 pm

    I love pottery painting, it is a great way to enjoy a few creative hours without having to go on the wheel. Yours look great!

    missccreativecrochet said:
    April 10, 2017 at 9:07 am

    This pot painting sounds like fun! Could do with one of those as my yarn often rolls off mid project! Looks lovely too! 😊

      tinaor responded:
      April 10, 2017 at 9:16 am

      Thank you. It really was fun to do. I went to the pottery painting shop with a little trepidation and no skill in painting – what came out was a lovely yarn bowl – with a little fix/cheat for painting it with clever paint that did most of the job for me. I guess the most difficult bit was choosing the colours – there is yellow and purple on the inside, but under the black crackle on the outside is teal, purple and lilac, but you can’t see much of that !

Leave a Reply

