Time For Tea, with knitting on the side, NaKniCromo update too

Posted on

teashopbake

A truly creative week.  The ideas are flowing. The needles have clicked. Thread was stitched, by hand and by machine. Work must have stemmed my creative juices – currently between jobs and I just want to knit, to sew, to play with yarn and fabric!  I am so lucky to have the time to do this.  Not everything has worked out, but it’s been fun all the way.  topdownyellow

My first top down knit – I started it a few days ago, ripped it back a little at one point to correct a mistake, but now it’s finished and I loved every minute making it.  I am so glad I tried again. (Photo before blocking, hence the wiggly front flap, which will flatren out!)

And embroidery hoops with stitched pictures – a Tea Shop theme – as they will soon be available in a local tea shop for sale.  teahoopspink

These were a treat to make.  I have in the past done a very little freehand machine embroidery – this was  little of that, a little handstitching as well.  I didn’t have a plan – I started and this is what I ended up with.  It is a little Tea Shop in Downe, Kent, with a little dresser displaying pretty things for sale – so not making in bulk and let’s see how it all goes. And don’t get me started on pricing – wishing to keep it reasonable, not paying a wage (who can earn anything from crafting? Thinking of Etsy in future, will need to look at pricing properly one day!)

teahoop2

NaKniCromo – on Ravelry, again a little late with the update.  This was an interesting challenge to follow, updates to fellow Ravelryers here.  This is a project for March and March is soon over.

Day 21 – Share my progess.  Well, If you take about 4 inches off the Top Down above then that would have been my progess on that project on Day 21!

Day 22 – Favourite colour to work with.  Looking at my stash it has many shades of purple and teal and I currently have one teal knit project on the go.  Guess I’ll say those two then!

Day 23 – Favourite type of project – ones that grow fairly quickly and keep me interested.  Over the last few months, definitely a baby blanket with a ripple – as blogged previously.

Day 24 – Fave project ever made – a teal short sleeved button front cardigan for myself.  I used Rowan Aran Tweed, made it too short to start with, added an extra band along the bottom to make it long enough.  Loved it. Wore it often.  Washed it poorly once and shrunk it.  Boohoo!

Day 25 – today – Favourite yarn to work with?  I don’t have one.  I was sorting through my stash this week, donating things to charity, ebaying others, planning what to make next – and came across a cotton/linen yarn from about 10 years ago – it was an oatmeal colour, nubby, absolutely dreadful on the hands to knit with – I remember it made me so saw, thus just a quarter of a top was finished and was in with the bag of unused balls !  So for Day 25 – I turn it round and say ‘worse yarn to work with’ !

Day 26 – tomorrow – wonder what it will be – Projectless yarn I have held on to .  Well, there are several stories!

Goodbye for today, from a very blowy but sunny Kent in the UK. Happy Crafting!

3 thoughts on “Time For Tea, with knitting on the side, NaKniCromo update too

    handmade habit said:
    March 26, 2017 at 6:25 am

    How lovely to see the complete TD baby-sweater! It’s so precious! love the design on the yoke and the cut of the arm holes. The buttons match so nicely, as well. Great to see more of your hand-sewn embroidery work, too. The first picture brings back good memories of the Great British Bake Off. 🙂 Such cute fabric combinations, and tea-cup stitching. I can think of nothing better to go with knitting than a good cup of tea.

    tinaor responded:
    March 26, 2017 at 7:19 pm

    Thank you for your kind words. I am having so much fun crafting at the moment!

    Mrs P said:
    March 27, 2017 at 7:34 pm

    Such beautiful work x

Leave a Reply

