When do I craft? Day 9, Day 10, Day 11, Knitting challenge, etc. NaKnitCroMo

Posted on Updated on

Day 9 of the NaKnitCroMo challenge on Ravelry.com – though in reality it’s actually Day 11 and I am catching up.

When? Mainly the evenings if it’s knitting.  I cosy myself up on the sofa, cat to the left of me,  after dinner, if I am knitting something easy then the tv is on too.

If it’s sewing, by machine, then that’s a daytime thing.  I usually want to be on my own in the house, no husband to pop in and interrupt me – risking me sewing through my own fingers or going askew on the piece I am sewing.  I often think he feels my sewing efforts are a waste of time – he doesn’t ‘get’ the pleasure made from handcrafting.

 

Day 10 of the NaKnitCroMo challenge – What’s my crafting fuel?

Coffee, decaff and when trying to be good – water. If I have the odd evening tipple, I end up putting the knitting down as I can’t concentrate – or I think I can but looking at anything I’ve knitting the next morning can be slightly shameful, and I might not have the right number of stitches on each row still!  Never say never though – I was invited to a Craft and Cocktails event yesterday – didn’t go as I had other plans – looking forward to hearing how friends got on – and if anything crafty was achieved. I suspect there was more giggles and drinking than crafting – but that’s not a bad thing occasionally.  Shame to miss it. (Memories of being a teenager, moons ago, hemming a skirt one evening, whilst fuelled with cider – argh, the finished hem was soooo bad!)

Day 11 – today – What do I listen to when crafting?  As I said, when knitting, it’s usually the tv.  When sewing, I love catching up on BBC London Radio (JoAnne Good in the afternoon, particularly The Barking Hour on Thursday afternoons or I love a bit of Robert Elms and his listed Londoner slot), or my cds –  a bit of retro 1980’s/1990s’s – my era, when I knew all the words and sang along – maybe that’s why I sew alone at home – then there’s no shame in singing along out loud and out of tune, ha ha!  Depending on the mood of the day – Fleetwood Mac, for a singsong, Enjya for thoughfulness, Cher for a jig about when ironing fabric, bit of newer stuff, eg. Mumford and Sons – husband would definitely head out of the house for Mumford – he hates them.  Loving this challenge – it really makes me think how and why I craft.

drops merino extra fineWool ….

Latest knitting news – I guess part of the March challenge but this might slip into April.  I have finished both fronts of my ML181 Love this Cardigan.  I have sold some of my stash which has been quite carthartic – you know those yarns you have had for ages and just aren’t going to be turned into something as you have either gone off them, or just don’t have enough in quantity?  – they’ve gone to good homes.  I have (accidently) purchased some yarn for a couple of baby projects.  A friend in Belgium is due in May – I haven’t started anything yet – got to get my sticks clicking – not sure if it’s a boy or a girl, hoping this lovely shade of yellow will be a good choice.  DROPS Merino Extra Fine in light yellow. (Great local yarn store –  http://www.littlewoollie.co.uk/ – always a warm welcome from the owner Trudy.)  ‘Accidently’ purchased as I have plenty of yarn still in my stash – but this was irresistable and DROPS is reasonable prices and good quality.

 

drops merino extra fine light yellow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

