Knitting WIPs, a growing pile

Posted on Updated on

ricocreativeDuring the last three weeks I have started three projects and finished none! Flitting from one thing to another, with lots of other stuff going on besides the knitting I am trying to look objectively at my ‘progress’.   I think I can say ‘progress’ though the piles of yarn balls grow beside my crafting space and the bags with needles poking out the top of them actually look like they are self-breeding.  I began a chunky waistcoat, simple knitting, a little change of colour here and there. It was ok to knit whilst watching a movie until I need to count and work out shaping – that’s when it was put down and the next project picked up.  Then there is a super chunky blanket, just garter stitch, as it grows it becomes slightly unwieldy, so great if you are on the sofa and not moving far, but it’s not a ‘moveable project’, so one not to take in the car as a ridealong project or to take to my knitting clubs outside the home.  Then there’s a lovely cowl, only just cast on, think I need to concentrate more than I have been, having done a little ripping and reknitting on this one!

I have actually been quite knitting/woolly in other ways this month. I joined a yarn challenge on Ravelry.com.  Each day of the month participants have been posting pics and comments on their knitting world/community/projects past and present.  It’s been fun, quite retrospectful for me and inspirational for future projects and activities.  Sometimes you need to take stock of what you have actually created and why!

I have at last pulled back a knitting project my sister gave me – half a sweater she started for her daughter a few years ago.  I was never going to finish it, but had been gifted the yarn to do something with.  Now to decide whether to reknit it or pass that gift on. Why is it that ripping is always much quicker than knitting!

Here a couple of pics from that yarn challenge posting.  Tech issues mean they are slightly historical but from my knitty world!  A green/blue/sparkly  Rico Creative sweater, this came out a little snug, so I am keeping it for when I lose a bit of weight!  That will teach me to not do a tension square for every project!  Ooops!  beckham-knit

And me knittng whilst wearing a David Beckham mask!

Over the next week or so I will be back in business and posting new knitting project photos hopefully – a slightly technical hitch means that just wasn’t possible today!

Happy knitting all.

Leave a Reply

