2017 Plans to knit and to sew and to create not just think about it !

Posted on Updated on

I just read Jenny Stilwell’s blog and it made me think how I didn’t keep up with my own 2016 plans. https://jensewsandknits.com/author/flickchickknits/

I quote ‘Sewing has really fallen by the wayside in 2016 and in the coming year I will be sewing a minimum of 4 hours every week. This will be put in my calender as a normal appointment and I plan on treating it as a work date so cannot be cancelled unless I am away.’

What a great idea.  I have often felt guilty to put my creative time above other things and although I have crafted a lot over the years, I have never formally made time for it unless it has been at a club outside the home.  I have for 2 years given myself ‘me time’ at a lovely craft and coffee club on a Thursday morning – it’s a great meet up of like-minded crafters and we have crafted together and sunk many a cappucino whilst putting the world to rights.  However, it isn’t intense crafting time, distractions are indeed welcome and indeed meeting the others during that time in part is for companionship and inspiration is plentiful.  I do not give up my Thursday mornings unless there is an emergency! However, I just don’t seem to get enough actual crafting done some weeks.  I shall seriously think about popping formal crafting time into my diary just like a work appointment.  Thank you Jen, I feel almost like I have had permission to do so!  Thursdays may become the day for myself and my needles, be it knitting or sewing ones.

Saying that… I haven’t been idle since 2017 began.  Last weekend I made the most gorgeous baby blanket.  I loved it! I loved the yarn! I loved the pattern! I love the finished item!  I feel I have found delight again in knitting.  I have knitted for years, have many WIPs, have had successes and disasters, but this one project was such a pure pleasure to make. It was quick, it worked, it is a gift ready well before the gift date. It is the first of many new projects for 2017.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “2017 Plans to knit and to sew and to create not just think about it !

    Postcard from Gibraltar said:
    February 27, 2017 at 8:29 pm

    I think it’s so important to set time aside for crafting – so good for our mental health 😊

      tinaor responded:
      February 27, 2017 at 8:33 pm

      I agree. I haven’t quite my act together to give myself dedicated hours once a week once on a particular day but I have definitely knitted more in 2017 that in Jan/Feb 2016 !

        Postcard from Gibraltar said:
        February 27, 2017 at 8:35 pm

        Well that sounds like an excellent start to 2017! 😊

    tinaor responded:
    March 2, 2017 at 2:57 pm

    It is, thank you.

Leave a Reply

