That Friday Feeling !

Posted on Updated on

I’ve got that Friday feeling – when you feel your work is almost done and the weekend is about to begin. It’s odd but strangely pleasant as I officially finished my working week on Wednesday! I have no plans for tonight and a quiet weekend ahead of me. The weather forecast is cold, wet, maybe even with a flurry of snow. I have yarn and needles, food in the cupboard, family at home, so I think I am all set for a happy few days.

When I worked full time away from home years ago this time of day (mid afternoon on a Friday) brought excitement and anticipation to the fore. It often brought sheer panic at the same time as I looked at how much work needed to be completed before I could shut up the office and head home! There were many times weekends started at 5.05pm on a Friday night with a few drinks in the pub before getting a later train home. There were other times when I dashed home as fast as possible and speedily changed into my glad-rags ready to go straight out again. Then there were some Fridays where I called in the curry house on the way home to place an order for a meal to be delivered half an hour later once I’d reached home and put my cosy clothes on for a lazy evening on the sofa! Then there were Fridays with a toddler at my ankles, those Fridays where I couldn’t wait for my hubby to get home and takeover the childcare. Oh what a lot of different Fridays there have been. I could go on and on ..

What about now? What about recent Fridays? Well, Fridays are just for me. I can be selfish on Fridays during the day. I consider myself very lucky on Fridays. Sometimes I stay in my pjs a bit longer than other days, maybe even watch some breakfast tv followed by a little daytime tv too. Fridays can be for catching up with friends and/or chores or I can create things for pleasure or to sell ‘one day’. I decide how to spend my Fridays and luckily at the moment this does not involve working elsewhere.

So today, coffee and a giggle with a friend, a trip to the gym (to work off the almond croissant eaten with the friend), homemade soup for a late lunch sitting on the sofa followed by a little knitting. Sadly the knitting became a mini disaster but I didn’t let that bother me, no, not on a Friday!

The end of the day will hopefully be just as indulgent.

Leave a Reply

