What was on my needles this weekend?

Posted on Updated on

A treat of a weekend – I actually knitted for myself!  I have the back and half a front of a chunky pink cardigan just for me, yay!  I had been putting other projects first for a couple of weeks. If I switch between little hats to sell and this one big project I might actually finish it in time to wear this winter.  I love the colour but I am not loving the wool, sadly.  I hope it grows on me as it grows on the needles.  It was a reasonable priced yarn and I thought I would give it a try based on the colour alone, not something I would usually do (Cascade Pacific Chunky).  That’s the one thing with shopping online for yarn and textiles.  I like the convenience of shopping on line and do it a lot, but I also like visiting stores to stroke and squish wools and fabrics.  Thank goodness I am lucky enough to be able to do both (and often do which leads to a stash to rival knitting and haberdashery shops!).

This weekend also confirmed I don’t much like knitting on long, plastic needles. I haven’t knitted on plastic needles regularly for years, usually opting for bamboo or rosewood from my collection.  The pink yarn cast on needed quite a long needle and at the cast on stage these 35mm Pony needles were just handily poking out from one of my needle rolls (having had a slight accident knocking the needle roll off the shelf the day before). I quickly switched to birch for both the smoothness, weight and also these ones are very pretty too, being a rosy pink to match the yarn!  The yarn just didn’t travel along smoothly for me on the plastic needles. Knitting needles are an item of choice for everyone and it is not for me to tell anyone to avoid them, however I know I will not choose plastic ones if I can help it for future projects.

So, no photo of the pink one yet but here’s a taste of a current hat – this one will be for a 6-12month old baby, rather vintage don’t you think?  Using a Knitpro circular needle here.

What’s on others’ needles this week?vintagehat (2)

Leave a Reply

