In need of knitting and sewing therapy – so thankful for this morning

Posted on Updated on

padded coathangers 2 nov 14What a shattering week it has been.  A week of disappointments and frustrations.  I am over tired, have been over-wrought and thank goodness the week is almost over itself!  (It’s now Saturday afternoon. When do you say your week begins, Sundays or Mondays?  For me it is Mondays.  I digress…)

A frustrating week: buses were late, trains cancelled, colleagues absent, work extreme, teenager a ‘stroppy’ teenager.  The weather turned cold and chilly, the skies were grey all day and to see photos on line of my hubby in the Dubai sunshine enjoying his holiday (oops, business trip!) added to the despair of the week.  Disappointments briefly: work ethic not being appreciated, being a good mother, being a successful wife.  There were a few bright lights, namely a morning spent with friends on Thursday and a satisfying parents evening giving praise to my teenager (no strops that evening from either of us, wahay!).

When I am a lone parent for a few days I revel in the chaos of my life and home.  I rule the roost, I tidy when I want to (usually half an hour before anyone else comes over), I craft more and generally have a ‘break’ from week to week routine.  This week it just has not worked out that way.  The knitting did not take off – I kept running out of time to knit – my time management sucked.  The sewing remained on the dining table space, left neglected and unloved.

So thank goodness for this morning! Look what I made – mine is the navy spotted one.  Four friends met and sewed together.  The lovely Carrie helped us make a padded coathanger (one friend popped in to say hi, sup a coffee and did not stay long, so did not sew).  This has been a project on the back burner for months.  Twice we had arranged to meet and make it but with all of us and our chaotic lives it wasn’t until today that it actually happened.  Friends, sewing needles, fabric, girl heaven.  Therapy in a couple of hours.

5 thoughts on “In need of knitting and sewing therapy – so thankful for this morning

    Geraldine said:
    November 22, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    I wish you a MUCH better week to come. Take care. 🙂

    Geraldine said:
    November 22, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    PS: Sewing is always wonderful therapy, I agree.

    tinaor responded:
    November 24, 2014 at 9:43 am

    Thank you. I agree, a little bit of sewing and a chit chat with friends was just great.

    Geraldine said:
    November 25, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    Here’s to a good week, for all of us. Glad I found your blog. 🙂

      tinaor responded:
      November 30, 2014 at 9:18 pm

      Yes, here’s to a good week! Glad I found your blog too.

Leave a Reply

