Knitting Disappointment But Onwards and Upwards

Posted on

How come the last couple of things I have knitted haven’t turned out quite the way I’d hoped they would? What’s going on?  I am trying to put it down to experience and learn from it but it is soooo annoying and I groan about the amount of hours put into something I just don’t like.  I don’t think any knitter or crafter has always loved every item they’ve ever made.  I think it’s all part of the learning process, but at this rate I will still be ‘learning’ when I am 94. 

My newly finished aran weight top just doesn’t look right on me. I’ve tried it with different clothes/layers/colours.  I’ve held the shawl collar up at different angles to see if I could wear it as a crossover front top.  I’ve even wondered about adding another rib to the waistline.  I don’t think anything will work – so I’ve ‘hid’ it in a cupboard until I can decide what to do with it!  I can’t bear to undo the whole garment and might even gift it to someone just to be rid of it.  There is nothing wrong with it, per se, it’s just not ‘my’ style and it doesn’t fit ‘my’ shape.  My second item, again newly finished, is a simple baby cardigan.  I gave myself a non challenging knit to do as I watched the tv – completely in garter stitch which I haven’t tackled in years.  Now I know why!  Every slight wiggle in tension shows up, my picking up stitches for the neckband looks gappy, the sewing up could have been neater for the raglan seams!  All in all, I really don’t think its up to my usual standard.  I have thought of decorating along the neck border, perhaps with some kind of flowery stitch, as if it’s supposed to be there.  Not sure if that will work, so it is joining the aran top in the cupboard …..

Needless to say, I’ve been cautious about starting something new for a week or so.  It is really difficult when I am surrounded by such yummy yarns and the season is changing to Spring.  I start thinking about new things and chucking out the old (in my case this means putting away any winter WIPs and panicking that I haven’t begun any summer projects!).  I go into my spare room, view my stash, I visit a friend in a wool shop, I belong to a knitting forum , you could say I live in a rather woolly world.  There is a lot of inspiration out there, I admire so many peoples skills, and I itch to begin a new project which I am sure WILL work out.  So, latest new project began yesterday.  It’s a petrol blue mercerised cotton shrug, for me.  If I get to wear it this summer I will be happy, yet as it’s a little lacy and each row takes a little longer than my usual chosen style of knitting, if it doesn’t make it as a finished garment until next summer that will be ok too.  After all, this knitting lark is supposed to be fun, isn’t it?

 

One thought on “Knitting Disappointment But Onwards and Upwards

    kiwiyarns said:
    May 2, 2014 at 4:03 am

    I can relate to all that! I have also found that putting the thing away and then pulling it out months later can change one’s impression of a garment. There are things that I initially hated, but I wear very happily now. Funny that. Garter stitch is also not my favourite. It is also so terribly slow…

Leave a Reply

