Aside Posted on

ImageI had to cease knitting of the green top temporarily having discovered what looked like an error on the pattern.  Grumble, grumps, darn, etc …..  However, I emailed the pattern publisher, who came back to me very quickly and I’ve now been reassured it’s not an error and it will work out if I just keep on knitting.  My knowledge of garment structure is being tested and I hope to enjoy a new experience here, revealing the finished garment soon(ish). Today it’s time to get back to ‘the green’ project (I decided to give it a name, it means it differentiates what knitting bag I pick up when I move from knitting venue to knitting venue).  That’s an hour planned to myself in the car this afternoon whilst waiting for my son at his tutor’s house.

So, having had a little break from ‘the green project’ this week what jumped upon new needles was a ‘baby pink project’, photo here.  This was supposed to be a very simple quick knit, which it is, but it has made me review how neat my garter stitch only style is (or isn’t).  I am hoping with completion and blocking I shall be more impressed with it than I am now.  I have not made anything solely garter for a long time. It was reminiscent of early knitting and the yellow teddy I made when I was 7 years old.  I hope my style has got a lot better since then. Oh how I wish I had kept that first knitting project. If only we knew which things would seem important in years to come.  I don’t even have a photo of it. 

Apart from the knitting, life is incredibly busy, although I did pop a lovely relaxing book club meeting in to my schedule last night.  It was great to meet up with the other members, chat about books and other stuff.  I think the one male member of our group was very patient when we set off at a tangent briefly (he may say not so briefly!) and talked about knitting and sewing, bless him, we did steer back round to things we all have in common eventually.

Work, well for me, yesterday was the penultimate day there.  Friday is my last session.  Getting slightly concerned now about the future, but pleased the month is almost over.  I feel I need to plan my time properly, and need time in which to do the planning!  Anyone else feel like that?  

Leave a Reply

