Two weeks notice and the ups and downs of waiting to leave work (all whilst knitting)

Posted on Updated on

matineesparkle

Nearly 2 weeks into working my notice at the knit shop and counting down.  First of all I had the initial ‘nervousness’ that came with planning to resign which continued for a day or so after I’d done it. Then I moved on to ‘excited anticipation’ accepting I had done the right thing.  The first day back into work I threw myself into working hard and tried to convince myself I’d be missed in future, which led to feelings of ‘have I done the right thing?’.  Then back to ‘excited anticipation’ since then for a few days!  There are more ups and downs to working a notice period than I was ever aware of.  I think this must be as I have no firm plan to what happens next at this time of my life.  My vague ideas for 2014 post February are a little scary but if I didn’t jump ship now I am not sure how/when I could have done it.  I left former jobs with very different emotions. One job move was from a local job to a London job – I couldn’t wait to start that new journey.  Another was to leave a job for maternity leave – I couldn’t wait for that one either and I was obviously on a time limit!  This time, my plans are my own and loose.  I am hoping once I am not formerly employed then I shall move on in leaps and bounds.

Meanwhile, knitting should be therapy – but I don’t seem to be getting anywhere too fast.  I have finished one item, a matinee jacket, and half of another baby set. I should have used my time better and made more.  Oops, again!   Pic is matinee jacket – all sparkly and fun!

Leave a Reply

