Craft Ideas In My Head Only

Posted on

It has been a busy stressful week so far, and it’s only Thursday!  There is still not much crafting going on in this house – well, I am not crafting in reality, but I am in my head, which still ‘counts’ and keeps me sane. 

I have a new knitting WIP, a chunky hat which will be a gift for a friend’s birthday on the 25th December – she always seems to miss out on her birthday treats what with it being Christmas Day too.  I shall endeavor to finish this, pop it in the post, extravagantly wrapping it in Birthday Wrapping Paper!  Unfortunately I have steered off the pattern and I am keeping my fingers crossed that the next couple of inches look ok and that I don’t have to frog it.  I tend to do this, and have had successes and failures galore!

Yesterday I read something which made me smile – a fellow knitter said she didn’t count her UFOs as WIPs.  She was acknowledging the she had various woolly projects on pins that she wasn’t actually going to finish.  I do not stress about my own projects not finished, but I admit I have started more things than I have completed.  I might just have to admit that some of them won’t make it to fruition now – so WIPs become UFOs and that makes me feel a lot more comfortable!   One in particular I know has a fault in the first few inches and I had thought it would not bother me when it was finished – but I know it will really – so I haven’t touched it in months.  It is one thing I shall RIP out and turn into something else now.  It cannot be finished and gifted as the error screams out at me!

I am also sewing, but only ‘in my head’ ! The first meeting of my new sewing group will take place at the end of January and before then I shall have to have a craft project planned.  Something very small, something manageable and fun, and of course in the right venue.  Watch this space!

As for family life – what a week that has been. My son has had a better couple of days, without actual taunting from the guys who picked on him the other day, but I know he has been worried, as have I.  He has good friends who are looking out for him, all of them are passive rather than aggressive.  He is avoiding getting in the same physical situation and being very strong and brave.  I am proud of how he is dealing with it but inside I am still incensed that there are people out there who dare to fight their corner physically and in a crowd!  I have reassured my son that his intelligence is a much stronger tool than those bullies who use their fists. 

 

Leave a Reply

