When do you learn how to be a grown up?

Posted on

I consider myself a mature woman, I’ve been around a while, have had a family, experienced a bit of life. I consider myself a ‘grown up’ most of the time (I hold down a job, make decisions without referring to others!) However, sometimes being a parent becomes more of a challenge and I look around for the ‘grown up’ to take over and realize that ‘grown up’ part of me doesn’t feel like a grown up and I am searching for someone else to know what decisions to make! Does anyone else do this? 

This week my son had trouble outside his school, bullies approaching him and pushing him around, accusing him of something he hasn’t done.  When I had the call to go and collect him outside school I jumped in the car and did not know what I would find.  Luckily, he was unhurt physically, but extremely shaken up.  I was so upset for him, tried to be reassuring, tried to say all the right things whilst inside I was incensed and wanted to somehow get back at the other boys, find them and  hurt them.  I am usually such a passive person!  I didn’t know what words to say to make him understand I will be there for him, I will support him,  I will look after him and look out for him always.  I didn’t want him to be even more stressed, to worry day after day that it might happen again.  I had recently read a quote a friend had seen that said ‘you mess with my son/you mess with me’.  At the time I smiled to myself and thought I have a good lad, someone who stays out of trouble and makes me proud.  Yes, I DO have a good lad, who stays out of trouble, who makes me proud. It’s just that losers in this world sometimes cross our paths and we have to deal with them.  I hope my words of comfort were the right words.  That has been a true lesson in learning to be a ‘grown up’ for me.  I guess that means when you do become one you know what to say and how to behave.

 I usually blog about my crafting, but the past week has been chaos with builders working and not much crafting has been going on! I decided yesterday to sort out my woolly stash, mid way through which I had the call from my son.  Today I couldn’t face returning to the pile of chaos.  Tomorrow’s another day.    

Leave a Reply

