Knitting stuff, a bit of crochet too – I can do it!

Posted on Updated on

bluegreencowl

Last week I started to blog the progress of my latest knit WIP and just posted a photo on here – oops posted it on it’s own then started to write this!  I meant to put both together but it is Sunday afternoon and I am struggling a little as it was a late night last night – I am starting to flag already and look forward to an early night catching up on lost sleep tonight!

Craftwise I had a quite a good week in the end and finished the baby cardigan and hat in super quick time for me.  It’s a first size – although it looks so tiny I can only hope the little one expected in January stays little for a while after she is born so at least she can wear it more than once!  I knit baby things from time to time, mainly as display garments in the shop where I work – I must say this is probably the smallest set I’ve done for a while.  I also finished a white aran cabled baby hat on Friday  – it was very cute, bit stressful on the hands whilst knitting – but I forgot to photograph it.  If it is still at work next week (and hasn’t been sold!) then I shall take a pic and pop it on here just for interest.  Does anyone else struggle sometimes with aching paws when doing cable knits?  I don’t usually find it too much of a bother but the yarn was a bit tough to work with this time and the instruction ‘K1B’ isn’t my favourite.  

So, you know me, not one to return straight away to another WIP I have started a new project, albeit another QUICK one.  My boss has given me yarn and a mystery crochet pattern.  I am not a competent crocheter.  In fact, my limit has been granny squares.  I tried to crochet a long time ago and gave it up, telling myself I am obviously a more natural knitter.  This time, and without a picture, I intend to learn beyond a granny square.  The pattern, to me, was complete gobbledygook on Wednesday evening, and again 2nd try Friday afternoon!  Not only do crochet terms sound unfamiliar, but the pattern is also American not British and terms differ.   This pattern is SIMPLE I was told – well, pat on the back to me – if you look at the green and blue photo above – I AM getting it!  For those crocheters reading this you may be wondering how I found it so difficult to understand – well, initially I joined it twisted – just like I have done before when knitting hats in the round – then I kept popping the hook in the wrong hole!  Now, it feels so easy I am flying through the rounds.  I am using a 20mm hook, mind you, so of course it will grow quickly.  I shall chart my progress here.

As for the rest of the week  – non-craftwise – bit odd.  Too much time at work, fewer customers than hoped for.  Too much time hanging around at home with the builders home.  We had a new front door put in on Thursday – it’s great to look at but when inspected by hubby Saturday morning he isn’t happy with the job so I will need to wait in again for a 2nd visit.  This is on top of waiting in for other building supply deliveries, blah, blah, feeling a little frustrated.  Love the hubby dearly but sometimes he was Mr DIY and could do all these jobs himself. As the builder said though, he just couldn’t do the job my hubby does.  That makes it square peg in a square hole for both of them then.

Ta ra for now.  

Leave a Reply

