Blogging Month

Posted on

Did I just read somewhere that November is ‘National Blog Posting Month’? (National meaning UK or elsewhere?  I can’t actually find much on line about it – does that mean there will or won’t be more blog action? )  

I’ve not been blogging for a while, shame on me. However, I’ve just had a little holiday in my lovely part of France – and as usual it became days of relaxation and contemplation.  A few days there equates to a two week holiday at home in the R&R stakes even when the weather is not at fine as you hoped it might be.  There is no tv, no internet (and it is NOT like having an arm cut off, it is a deliberate way of life) and no work for me apart from a little gardening and keeping house. Somehow I can switch most of my troubles off and spend time thinking of better (and possibly alternative) ways to deal with them when I return home. 

I took a selection of books with me, including one about using social media in a better way for business.  I didn’t quite consider this ‘work’ as it is part of course I am studying, plus it may help me set up a new business in future.  My ‘marketing’ skills may be a little out of date so it’s time to make sure I understand how the world now works! It’s a minefield, and I guess Likeable Social Media by Dave Kerpen won’t be the only book I shall need to read although so far it is very informative and also very readable.

I also took knitting – yay – more time to knit!  I knit every day at home if I can but I just knit more when I am away.  I made two pairs of gloves and great inroads into another warm and cosy jumper for the winter season.  My husband and son sometimes despair over my ‘woolly world’ but I like it.  My job is in a yarn shop, my home life is also swathed in wool!

Now, before I started this blog today I re-read my last post.  At the time I think I was so overwhelmed with life.  I am happy to say my ‘list’ from September is shorter, although of course I have another ‘list’ of things to do which doesn’t feel so daunting.  As well as the usual general house-y things (housework, gardening, etc) I have had a health check (all fine – why was I putting off that when it was pain free and results returned within 4 days?!), I am off to a spa break this weekend, the wedding gift was purchased and given and a lovely jacket has found it’s way into my wardrobe. The fridge was defrosted and new one is in the kitchen, the diet is going well, I finished last month’s book club book in good time and even wrote a mini review to send off to other members as I couldn’t go to the monthly meeting. I have also taken a look again at this course I am doing and have started reading relevant material again. I think I can give myself a pat on the back for all of that.  Of course there are things that are ongoing but that’s just me – oops, more knitting WIPs and that sewing project hasn’t been done.  Never mind, nothing that can’t wait.

So, signing off for now.  Back to start on November’s ‘list’ of things to do!

 

 

Leave a Reply

