12994 stitches knitted so far. Have you ever estimated how many you may have knitted?

Posted on Updated on

89cm long, 12994 stitches
89cm long, 12994 stitches
MY WIP is growing …

I am so enjoying my latest new project, a sparkly wrap for a good friend. I posted a blog entitled Lunchtime in Dubai/knitting at home last week and showed a photo of this project. I would like to share my progress here and challenge others to do what I have just done ** see below

I was reading somewhere about whether a knitter ever considers how much time she/he spends on each item they make. I do not usually add up time spent creating, unless I am working to a deadline and consider how many days or weeks (not broken down into hours or minutes) it has taken me to complete something. I do not often have an actual deadline unless I am working towards finishing a Christmas gift or a similar kind of date/event. This is actually a retrospective Christmas gift for 25th December 2012!! Luckily my dear, dear friend is completely understanding as I made all 5 of her children presents which were delivered on time. In fact, her gift was going to be something totally different but I hated it when I was half way through, gave up and have only just started this new one this June.

So, it’s a sparkly wrap. I am using 6mm needles, it’s a RICO design pattern. Last week it was approximately 45cm long. Today it measures 89 cm. There are 73 stitches per row. I estimate 178 rows have been knitted so far. ** therefore possibly I have wealded my knitting needles through 12,994 stitches. Wow! I think I could be 60-70% finished. As well as a little note of love, I shall also add the number of stitches worked into the wrap onto the note when I present the gift. I have never considered just how much work goes into such an item. It’s a good job it’s a delight to knit!

Who’s ever estimated how many stitches they have knitted in a garment before? Have you?

2 thoughts on “12994 stitches knitted so far. Have you ever estimated how many you may have knitted?

    Tina Hartley said:
    June 17, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    It’s strange you should ask that now, my hubby asked almost the exact same thing on the weekend. At the time I was ripping out a knitted panel I had been working on for a wedding afghan, I had decided knitting an afghan was just going to be too boring and take far too long. I needed the yarn to make a crocheted afghan in stead. I admit since getting back into crocheting I will rip out knitting with out too much heart ache, this wasn’t always the way. I used to make myself finish what I had started or just bury the half completed garment in my stash pile. I notice myself counting the stitches a lot more when crocheting and it does make you realise you are putting a lot of work into producing the finished article. But as long as I ‘m happy with the finished article I don’t mind how long it has taken to make.

    Your wrap looks lovely,very light weight and delicate. I’m sure it will be appreciated.
    Tina xx

      tinaor responded:
      June 22, 2013 at 12:01 pm

      It is a lovely project, and thanks for your comment. Being a novice crocheter I have not counted stitches for a crochet project yet – I am too busy trying to weld one stick rather than the usual two! I am still a little tense as I try not to lose the stitch off the hook and have been reassured it is just practice. I remember as a young child what my first knitting looked like – more holes and loops than you can imagine! I am happy as long as I enjoy what I make. The number of stitches and hours spent crafting are irrelevant, just interesting to note, and now I have done it once I might consider each project in the same way. If I ever feel I haven’t been doing much I can tell myself I actually have! xxx

Leave a Reply

