Lunch in Dubai? Knitting at home?

Posted on

ImageHusband has been away for a few days.  He returned this morning, trying to gain entry to the house when the bolt was still up on the door. I ran downstairs to let him in and there he was, travel-weary, unshaven, barely able to stand up straight, obviously shattered from the journey.  I’d been looking forward to having him back. I have been home whilst he’s been away. I have local jobs, a very local life this month, and the phone conversations we’ve been having have been quite mundane and hurried (him: between meetings/on a different time zone, and me: whilst cooking dinner/mid laundry/being domestic).  Our son is in the middle of GCSE exams so I am at home making life a little smooth and easy for him.  It’s been difficult with my own two jobs and in effect being a single parent but we’ve managed. One giggle of the week has been an email exchange with hubby.  He sent a lovely photo of the view from a restaurant  where he ate lunch. The vista was sparking sunshine bouncing off a Dubai beach and palm trees.  I zapped back a photo of our lounge, saying it was where I was having lunch that day. It brought him back to earth and life back ‘home’.

We have a strange life together. Hubby’s in bed for a nap but will be waking in a while, then he will head up to London for a meeting and dinner later. (I can’t believe he keeps going like this, worried he will burn out soon!) He will rest at the weekend, whilst I will be ready to do something interesting! Occasionally we are on the same wavelength, but not this week.

Husband travels a lot with his job.  I would like to say I stay home to ensure the household runs smoothly, but it isn’t like that.  Yes, we seem to have clean clothes and food (not always what we want to wear or eat, according to our son!) but we muddle along.  I craft a lot, which leads to a little chaos. Take, for instance, one of my latest projects (did I say I craft a lot?!).  I sewed a bag.   I then left the finished article, fabric scraps, pins, all the sewing paraphanalia on the dining table and I have ignored it for more than a week.  I guess there was just no need to clear it up.  My son and I have been coping with half a free table!  I keep running out of time to do everything. My mind moves onto the next thing, be it work or fun so some things I let slide.  Now husband is back I guess I really should have a bit of a tidy up – he was too tired to notice everything remained the same with my craft chaos from last week but there again if he says anything I shall remind him at least he will find clean shirts when he opens his wardrobe!

First job of the day, to tidy up sewing ….. or is it? No, I have come onto my blog instead.  You see, temptation is everywhere.  I craft, I write, I work a bit, I relax.  Life is too short to get stressed about things that don’t matter. I love the saying that dust comes back even when you’ve dusted, so things like dusting are a low priority.  I now sit in my office, looking at the grey (yes, grey!) summer skies outside.  I have my 2 plaques in here which say ‘Sing like no one is listening’ and ‘Keep Calm and Eat Cake’.  Later as I do a bit of vacumming  (I can’t do it now as it would wake hubby up!) I shall sing along to whatever cd I decide to play, then I shall sit with a coffee and a cake and get out my knitting.  Oh that’s one thing I’ve been doing.  I am half way through a shawl for a friend.  It’s her birthday in August. I promised her a knitted gift last Christmas but was disappointed at how it was turning out so I am making something else and I am determined to finish it soon.   Photo attached is WIP.

There must be a fair few people staying home and supporting the family whilst their partners whizz off to distant pastures.  This is just how I cope. Thank goodness for the support of good friends.

Leave a Reply

