A fabric bag, a little head-shaking and confusion on the way!

Posted on Updated on

sew bag no 1I investigated my fabric stash at the weekend and discovered I have too much beautiful fabric to leave it sitting in the cupboards and not being shown off.  So, I made a bag!  I wouldn’t say I am a very confident sewist (I blogged on Saturday about saying ‘sewist’ or a similar word, ‘stitcher’ was a good suggestion for someone who sews too).  I am not a very competent one either, however I now have something I am proud of.  I won’t be showing the finishing off to too many people, “admire from a distance”, I shall say, but one project down and many more to go. I used a pattern called Sea Of Flowers in ‘Patchwork Bags’ by Search Press (their Love to Sew range of books).  It has turned out kind of how I thought it would but I think the writers presume you know quite a lot about sewing already, and it’s classed as an easy project (one ‘heart’ in difficulty, rather than 2 ‘hearts’).  

To the detriment of my usual hobby, I have neglected the knitting for a few days, although I did a few mini triangles in lime green and white whilst I was being driven to London on Saturday afternoon. I shall be putting them together to make something very soon. What’s the latest project?? You shall have to wait and see.  I have carried my bag of knitting into work for two mornings but it just went along  for an outing as I didn’t knit at work at all.  I was at my ‘non’ knitting job but thought I might get in a few rows in a break. There was no break – it was all hands to the deck both days. Oh well ..

4 thoughts on “A fabric bag, a little head-shaking and confusion on the way!

    Paula Ward said:
    June 4, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    That bag is beautiful well done I made some bags a while agao and they can be tricky to do when your not used to making them

    tinaor responded:
    June 6, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    Thank you Paula. I enjoyed making it and for once it was a whole project in just one afternoon! It makes a change from the ongoing knitting projects that take many sessions.

    lucysb said:
    June 17, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    Thought I’d check out your blog too! Love the fabric of the bag, and the shape.

      tinaor responded:
      June 22, 2013 at 12:02 pm

      Thank you. The bag was a new thing for me and I really enjoyed making it.

Leave a Reply

