I love my new sewing group! Are we deemed sewists? A bag to make, knitting still too!

Posted on

I had such a fabulous morning at my sewing group.  It is very new and we are all just starting to get to know each other. I took along fabric and pattern books to cut out the pattern for a lovely, big, voluptuous bag, however we were lucky enough to enjoy a spot of sunshine so we sat on the deck and chatted about past, present and future projects instead.  Our host had the perfect venue for a bit of ‘time out’ and despite not starting the project I do not think it was a waste of time or anything like that. I so enjoyed picking up hints and tips and planning things we are going to attempt as a group and as individuals.  I think I may be one of the more inexperienced sewists but will try my best.  I can’t wait to produce something I can show off to everyone – although it’s a bit scary having shown everyone a photo of what it should look like! I make no promises mine will be as professional!

I was thinking about the word ‘sewists’.  Why are we ‘sewists’?  Why not ‘sewers? Well, obviously when you see it written down it has different connotations!  However, why aren’t knitters called ‘knitists’ or plumbers ‘plumbists’ and electrians ‘electricitisists’ and so on? There are probably linguists out there cringeing when they see this.  I guess there is an easy explanation. 

Now I have sorted out all the fabric I have – oh my, there’s an awful lot there – much of it was ‘hiding’ in a cupboard untouched for months.  I have knitting still on needles too, that is my first love.  I have my work cut out (and lots of pleasure) for the next few weeks, don’t I? Yippee.

Happy crafting everyone.  I shall chart my progress, big or small.  Tonight I am doing a ‘taxi’ run for my son who is out at a concert.  I am already missing that crafting time at home!

One thought on “I love my new sewing group! Are we deemed sewists? A bag to make, knitting still too!

    Paula Ward said:
    June 4, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    I must sort out my fabric as I want to make bags for teddies to hide in and maybe a tote bag or two

Leave a Reply

