One knitting project down, a pat on the back but a whole heap of projects still to go.

Posted on

Last night I completed one of my knitting projects and I pat myself on the back for it. I have to do it myself as husband and son are not exactly forthcoming with compliments. They are used to me always sitting knitting and they don’t take much notice of the type of yarn/garment/size of item/colour of wool in my hands. (I have always struggled to train them and have almost given up! However, I suspect I show the same amount of interest over whatever football match they watch on tv.) I blogged last week that I was clicking away to finish a baby hoodie for an imminent arrival – luckily the baby has not arrived, although the mum has been told to take it easy so I have finished in good time. Hurrah! I will pop a pic on the next post (sorry camera not to hand as I write this).
So today I returned to another recent knitting project, a summer top. I had been happy to put it down for a couple of weeks as it hasn’t exactly been the type of weather to need it. It has been nice to get back into the rhythm of a larger item, once I had worked out where I was with the shaping. I did a few rows after breakfast then just a few rows more after dinner tonight. It’s my next project to complete and perhaps I have been spurred on with the beautiful weather we had this Bank Holiday Weekend. Here in the South East of the UK it was actually sunny for two days in a row – and I have sunburned shoulders to prove it! Silly me!
I had a peek in my craft room too today and was a bit freaked out when I admit what I have on needles. I have been hiding projects, only from myself though! If I undid (known as FROGGED) some of my projects (known as WIPs or Works In Progress), I suspect my needle wrap would be a bit more bulky and I would realise how many of the same size pairs of needles I actually own. I don’t think I am the only one who has moved onto another project and had to purchase another pair of needles to go with it as previous needles were already being utilized. How many 4mm needles do I own? At least one set in this new top, one set just finished with, one set in a cotton cardi being made for last summer, one circular in another wrap front top, oh my goodness, not sure I can continue! I think a true knitter is someone who does have more than one project on the go. I definitely fit the bill. Do I just get bored and move on? Do I panic when it gets complicated or goes wrong? Looking for someone else to confess they have a stash of knitting WIPS……

3 thoughts on “One knitting project down, a pat on the back but a whole heap of projects still to go.

    Di said:
    May 29, 2013 at 10:17 am

    I sometimes start a pattern and in the middle notice I’m not really liking it and I just frog away, usually my wips happen because I never buy enough yarn to end it and then they just wait there for me to go and buy some more (which never happens…). Kisses

      tinaor responded:
      May 29, 2013 at 8:13 pm

      Oh I’ve made the mistake of not buying enough yarn. Nowadays I tend to overbuy then end up with leftover ‘stash’ that I WILL use one day (ha ha, I see it as ‘insulation’ in my house forever!) . xx

    tinaor responded:
    June 1, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    Reblogged this on handmadehomemadeknitstitchdesign and commented:

    Photo just uploaded – sorry it took a few days – I hope the baby comes soon as I can’t wait to see someone wearing it!

Leave a Reply

