Writing, Not Knitting, Baby nearly here! (Boy or girl?)

Posted on Updated on

ImageI had a few hours this afternoon to actually knit.  So, what have I been doing? Playing about with social media, equally important but …. I am knitting a striped baby hoodie. The baby it’s for is imminently due.  I am worried it will arrive and I won’t have finished my baby gift (I know what ‘it’ it is, but I am not telling yet, mum’s strict instructions!).I am wondering how on earth I am I going to find time to do everything on my ‘to do’ list.  . 

Most weeks I have plenty of time to please myself but for the past ten days or so I have been extra busy, with more work than usual in my part-time job and another casual job that crops up just twice a year.   I have also been visiting a friend recovering after an operation.  Plus, I have been emotionally supporting my son who is avidly revising and taking exams.  (Emotional support equals reading his mood swings, providing an ear when needed, giving sugary snacks when needed and complete avoidance when requested!) 

Am I the only one who never finds enough time in any one day?  I read in a recent article elsewhere that those who needed to find time should stop watching their ‘stupid soaps’ and just get on with whatever it is they need to get on with.  I fully believe everyone needs some ‘down time’, be it watching tv, going for a run, doing a craft, making a telephone call to a friend or whatever they wish to do that is not work or a chore.   

I favour any of those (except a run – I don’t!).  So, I shall stop beating myself up about not knitting yet today.  I plan to get the pins clicking a bit later on and to tell the friend to wait a while before she pops out baby number three! 

One thought on “Writing, Not Knitting, Baby nearly here! (Boy or girl?)

    Tina said:
    May 21, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    If you knit when you aren’t really in the mood mistakes just jump in, then you loose patience and it may end in loss of interest in something you need to have ready and to continue then is a big chore not enjoyable at all.So knit only when you can enjoy the process. It should never be a chore. I speak from experience. These days I knit very little for others. or only presents they know nothing about, so no disappointment if it fails to arrive.
    Crafts are an escape for me and I don’t do them if I can’t enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

